Home > Availability > A change in thinking…

A change in thinking…


When I entered the information security world in late 2001 I received training on communications technologies that included a significant interest in confidentiality.  Obviously the rest of the trifecta, integrity and availability, were also important but maintaining communications security was king.

Now, almost fifteen years later, I’m still focused on the trifecta with confidentiality coming out with a strong lead.  But my goals have changed.  While confidentiality is an important piece of the puzzle, for privacy and other reasons, I feel it should no longer be king with my work and writing.

Over the coming weeks I plan to focus on the availability of data.  And not just whether or not a file is on a server somewhere but diving into the heart of the availability problem.  File format standards, flexibility of the data to be used with accessibility tools, ability to translate the words into other languages to ease sharing, and the ability to move the information to other forms of media to improve access are all topics I want to cover.

I’m largely writing this as a reminder of ideas I want to research and discuss but I hope this gets other people thinking about their own works.  If you have a great idea don’t you want to make it easier for other people to consume your thoughts and be able to build on them?  Unfortunately the solution isn’t simple and I suspect much will be written over time about the topic.  Hopefully we’ll have a solution soon before that StarWriter file you have stored on a 5.25″ floppy drive is no longer readable.

Categories: Availability
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

