Home > Fedora 20, Integrity, Security > Configuring offlineimap to validate SSL/TLS certificates

Configuring offlineimap to validate SSL/TLS certificates


I recently upgrade to Fedora 20 and quickly found my offlineimap instance failing.  I was getting all kinds of errors regarding the certificate not being authenticated.  Concerned wasn’t really the word I’d use to describe my feelings around the subject.  Turns out, the version of offlineimap in Fedora 20 (I won’t speculate as to earlier versions) requires a certificate fingerprint validation or a CA validation if SSL=yes is in the configuration file (.offlineimaprc).  I was able to remedy the situation by putting sslcacertfile = /etc/ssl/certs/ca-bundle.crt in the config file.

I won’t speculate as to the functionality in earlier versions but checking to make sure the SSL certificate is valid is quite important (MITM).  If you run across a similar problem just follow the instructions above and all should, once again, be right with the world.

Categories: Fedora 20, Integrity, Security Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

