Home > Tech Note > Git access from within vim

Git access from within vim


Today a line was crossed.  I’m not sure if it was the insanity of spending all day writing nine lines of Python (I am not a developer… I am not a developer… I am not a developer.) or what, but I really wanted to do git commands from within vim (my editor of choice).  A quick search turned up the properly-named git-vim.  The program does just what I want it to: be able to ‘git add’, ‘git commit’, and ‘git push’ all while never leaving vim.  It also does other things but these are the basics that I want.  If you want this functionality I recommend git-vim.

Categories: Tech Note Tags: , ,
  1. 2013-03-13 at 01:53 EST

    The usual recommendation is called “fugitive”.

    • 2013-03-13 at 09:42 EST

      I’ve not heard of that one. Does it do the same thing?

  2. 2013-03-14 at 16:05 EST

    Sounds like you’re starting to make vim do as much as emacs can do. Welcome to the dark side. :-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

