Home > Multi-Factor Authentication, Poll > Poll: What multi-factor authentication tokens do you own/use?

Poll: What multi-factor authentication tokens do you own/use?


  1. 2013-03-06 at 14:22 EDT

    Just ordered a Yubikey and then realized I can’t really use it for much since there’s no way to use it with Android (the Neo is sold flat out for two months and only works with a couple of apps ATM as I understand it). Any thoughts on useful ways to use it that I won’t want to access from my phone appreciated…

    • 2013-03-07 at 09:02 EDT

      I don’t do much with my smartphone (also an Android) that requires 2FA. The Google Authenticator allows you to copy and paste the current code into whatever you are trying to log into on the device so that’s helpful, if not a bit of a security conundrum.

      I own two Yubikeys but neither of them have the NEO functionality so I’ve never messed with it. It sounds like a great idea and I’d love to try one.

      Looks like someone just pointed out that the NEOs were back in stock. If you get one and use it please let me know how it works.

  2. no please
    2013-03-07 at 05:39 EDT

    the NEO is back in stock ;)

  3. 2013-03-07 at 15:50 EDT

    Eric: well the obvious use case I had for the yubikey was to secure access to my email. But I use my email from my phone/tablet, so that kind of deep sixes the idea. I wouldn’t use it for ssh as I don’t think it’s enough of a security benefit over certificate-based ssh connections to be worth the hassle.

    If the Neos are back in stock I suppose I could buy one and use it with WordPress, seems like a lot of money just for that though…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

