Home > FUDCon, FUDCon Lawrence 2013 > FUDCon Lawrence Day 1

FUDCon Lawrence Day 1


The first official day of FUDCon was fairly productive for me as I was actually able to get stuff done.

First was my upgrading to Fedora 18.  I had to make a quick trip to Wal-Mart (not my vendor of choice) to grab a 1TB external hard drive (dubbed TerrorByte).  I had been wanting one for quite a while and discovered the actual need this time around.  After backing up my /home directory I did a fresh install of Fedora fixing a rather large issue I had the last time I installed Fedora (separate / and /home partitions).  I then spent the next forty-eight hours installing missing packages that I needed to get things done.  Of course this all took place during the wee hours of the morning meaning I probably messed up something along the way.  So far I haven’t found any missing data so I think I’m good.

In the morning light I caught a ride over to KU’s campus for the start of the festivities.  Everyone gathered for the “State of Fedora” address by Robyn and to hear about BarCamp options.  We had no problem filling the day’s calendar with talks ranging from ARM to marketing and moving Fedora forward.  I gravitated towards the SELinux talks as that system always fascinates me with all that it can do and I seem to learn something new every time I hear a talk.

It felt like I was following Dan Walsh around all day, really, as he ended up doing all the SELinux talks (it’s a labeling system!).  Dan reported that there were over 1000 new man pages now in Fedora 18 and Fedora 19 documenting all the booleans and other SELinux settings, better logs, and the illustrious sandbox program had been in the repos since Fedora 16 (or maybe further back?).  I’m hoping to incorporate this information into the Fedora Security Guide soon.

We did something new just after our lunch this year.  Lightning talks were to be no longer than five minutes and covered a variety of topics.  One that caught my attention was Dan’s talk on AsciiDoc.  I really see this program as being a great way to further lower the bar of entry into the Fedora Docs project and will hopefully bring more contributors to the table.  AsciiDoc allows authors to mostly just write without the need to worry about DocBook markup.  AsciiDoc can later be rendered in DocBook and can then enter our existing tool chain for publishing.  I’m hoping to introduce this to the Docs project soon.

That night we had pizza, cupcakes, drinks, and games in one of the large meeting rooms at the hotel.  I ended up working with Nick on packaging Dream, a program used to decode digital shortwave broadcasts.  This is in preparation for an OpenSource.com article I’ll be writing but I won’t ruin the surprise now.

That was all for my first day at FUDCon.  Luckily two more days awaited.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

