Home > Tech Note > Amazon Instant Video and Linux

Amazon Instant Video and Linux


Yesterday I had a hankering to watch Rocky IV.  (I don’t know either.  Perhaps it was all the Survivor Pandora played for me in the morning.)  I had always wanted to try out Amazon’s Instant Video system but wasn’t sure if it would work with Linux since other offerings seem to be pro-DRM and less open.  I did a quick read up on the subject and because Amazon uses Flash (yeah, I know… another topic for another day) their system can be used by any computing device that supports Flash.  Perfect.  So I was able to rent Rocky IV and watch it without any problems.  I’ll definitely be coming back to Amazon in the future!  Thanks Amazon!

  1. not a name either
    2012-03-07 at 15:17 EST

    What version of Fedora were you using?

    • 2012-03-07 at 17:16 EST

      Fedora 16

    • 2012-03-07 at 19:59 EST

      I should also point out that this works using CentOS 6.2 as well.

  2. 2012-03-07 at 17:40 EST

    What version of Flash? I ask because I was thinking it uses Flash 11 now, which makes it inop on things like the Boxee Box (ditto ESPN’s streaming offerings)

    • 2012-03-07 at 19:53 EST

      11.1.102.63

      I basically only use Flash for YouTube, which still works, and now for Amazon.

  3. Seth Vidal
    2012-03-08 at 09:17 EST

    Do Amazon Movies offer closed captioning?

    • 2012-03-08 at 13:55 EST

      Good question. I just looked at Rocky IV, again, and I don’t see a setting for it. Perhaps was never captioned?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

