Home > Fedora 15 > Cool Fedora feature: Would you like for me to install that for you?

Cool Fedora feature: Would you like for me to install that for you?


I think this feature has been in Fedora for the past couple of releases but I’ve never really run across it where it was so helpful.  I’m operating on my desktop, which is generally used as a server, instead of my laptop so I don’t have my traditional tools installed.  I’m working on getting the Release Notes translation files updated to Transifex but didn’t have the transifex-client installed.  No worries, though…

[user@localhost release-notes]$ tx push -s
 bash: tx: command not found...
 Install package 'transifex-client' to provide command 'tx'? [N/y]
 * Waiting in queue...
 * Running...
 * Resolving dependencies...
 * Downloading update information...
 * Waiting for authentication...
 * Waiting in queue...
 * Running...
 * Resolving dependencies...
 * Downloading packages...
 * Testing changes...
 * Installing packages...
 * Scanning applications...

Bam!  That fast I had the program installed and I never had to leave my CLI or type in any commands!  That just rocks right there.

Creative Commons License

Sparks’ Linux Journal by Eric “Sparks” Christensen is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://sparkslinux.wordpress.com/license/.

Categories: Fedora 15
  1. 2011-10-03 at 13:09 EST

    there is a rather large problem with it, in that if the to-be-installed package has any dependencies that aren’t currently installed, it fails to install it. but yeah, neat when it works.

    • 2011-10-04 at 12:17 EST

      I didn’t know that. I guess what I downloaded didn’t have any dependencies.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

