Home > CentOS5, Encryption > LUKS Woes

LUKS Woes


I installed CentOS 5(.3) on my home “server” and tried to sync some files from backup and remembered that I have the same problem at work on RHEL 5.3. The devices are all encrypted using LUKS and when the system tries to mount them I am prompted for a passphrase. So far so good. However, after entering the correct passphrase the prompt goes away and the device isn’t mounted.

Anyone know how to remedy such a problem?

Update: When I try to mount the device from the CLI I get the following error:
mount: unknown filesystem type ‘crypt_LUKS’

So it would appear that the system isn’t aware of the filesystem type. I’m not sure I know how to add such an animal or where to find it.

Categories: CentOS5, Encryption
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

