Home > tech question > Help Needed…

Help Needed…


Okay, here’s the situation. My wife came to me tonight and said that her computer had locked up trying to save a file and that she had rebooted her computer and now she can’t open the file at all. When I looked at it the first thing that came to my mind was that she had corrupted the file by downing the computer during the save. I can reproduce it every time and can’t get it to work correctly.

Here’s how it goes down… Using Openoffice.org’s writer I take a file and try to save it as a .doc. When I’m watching top, swriter.bin uses 100% of the CPU for as long as I let it run. If I try to save that file in ODF format I get the following error:

Error saving document TODO :
Error in writing sub-document styles.xml

We’ve also noticed that she gets a memory error when trying to email something using Thunderbird. I’m trying to figure out if this is a software issue or a hardware issue. Anyone have any ideas???

UPDATE: Figured out the problem and it has been remedied. The bigger problem is the corrupt files. Thanks to those that left messages about how to get into an ODF file but of course she was using .doc as she is working with people that use Microshaft Word. So, anyone know how to get into a .doc file?

Categories: tech question
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

