Home > stuff, Virtualization, Wine > Frustrated…

Frustrated…


I’m an Amateur Radio operator. There are certain pieces of software that I need to use. Most of them are not available for the *nix platform. So I use tools to help me run them. Virtual software like Xen, Wine, and Sun’s VirtualBox have helped me but I still can’t get everything working properly. Either the OS or the software doesn’t work right or I get everything working except the virtualized OS doesn’t see the USB device or the serial port which throws me back to square one.

So I reluctantly decided to dual boot my laptop. Run F9 and Windows XP together. It would be annoying to have to do this and I really hate the idea of having a Windows install.

Oh and that won’t work, either. I boot from my XP install disk and the screen goes blank. I simply cannot win.

So I’m just plain frustrated. It is two days before Hurricane Season officially begins (and two months since I really started the project) and I need to have this software up and running properly. Does anyone know of a virtualization program that would allow me to run XP and allow the OS to actually utilize the serial port or the USB ports?

Categories: stuff, Virtualization, Wine
  1. 2008-05-30 at 20:06 EST

    The big issue I found with virtual environments and USB/serial are the realtime lab issues. I was able to get some serial/USB programs to work with Vmware workstation, but not all since the software wanted to talk to the ‘real’ hardware which was being ’emulated’. For some software, we ended up with just special built laptops with windows and known good hardware that the software could talk serial/USB with. Mainly because the software would only work with Windows 98 or earlier :).

  2. 2008-05-30 at 21:51 EST

    Taken from: http://spoilt.blogsite.org/wordpress/index.php/2008/05/06/how-to-install-virtualbox-on-fedora-8Hope it helps!6.)To Get USB Support: a) create a new group called “usb” b) locate the usbfs file: in my case is /sys/bus/usb/drivers (I suggest to find the file with a usb device inserted!) c) modify file /etc/fstab inserting a line containing the right path and the number corresponding the “usb” group : none /sys/bus/usb/drivers usbfs devgid=503,devmode=664 0 0 d) command mount -a e) start VirtualBox

  3. 2008-06-01 at 22:28 EST

    The issue with the black screen on the windows install seems to be that windows simply hates the way linux handles partitions. (just like it hates several other things)The only way I found around this issue is by deleting the partition table with DD , to make the disk look to Windows as if it was brand new, then install windows, then install Fedora (or restore it from my backups using the fedora rescue mode). It was a painful and annoying procedure which made me give up on Windows.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

