Home > Fedora 8, Fedora 9, Security > My current docs project: Encryption and Privacy Guide

My current docs project: Encryption and Privacy Guide


Last week I posted the below message on f-docs-l. I got one response but I was expecting more.

With that in mind I’m posting this to my blog so that I may solicit input from a larger group. I think later we might expand this guide to include some broader topics but right now we are just trying to dig into the core ideas of F8 and rawhide.

So users, what do you have concerns about dealing with security and privacy while using Fedora?

Developers, what am I missing?

I've been working on updating the Crypto Guide (or Encryption and Privacy Guide) [1] but I've run into a few snags.  Karsten "Quaid" and I have been talking about the different information that should be included but we've come to a point where we need input from the group.

Originally the Crypto Guide was written to show how to implement LUKS disk encryption within Fedora. This has been done and tested. Being that this is the "Encryption and Privacy Guide" proposed topics to include in the guide are:

- LUKS Disk Encryption Solution
- eCryptfs Disk Encryption Solution
- GnuPG (GPG) File Encryption Solution
- GnuPG (GPG) Email Encryption Solution
- SSH
- VPNs
- Other related references.

I guess the biggest problem is where do you draw the line between Fedora-specific implementations and good security practices that have information available somewhere else?

So I'm asking you what should be included in the Guide and what shouldn't. I'm going to try to go put as much information into the topics that are listed above but this has to be out the door for F9 so I don't want to put too much information into it. If anyone would like to assist writing on any of the above topics please let me know.

Eric


[1] http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Docs/Drafts/CryptoGuide
Categories: Fedora 8, Fedora 9, Security
  1. 2008-03-28 at 08:17 EST

    How about SSL/TLS/Certificate management? You could cover it from both the client side, how browsers etc work, and the server side, how do I setup IMAP with SSL etc.Keith.

  2. 2008-03-30 at 05:36 EST

    Don’t forget fuse encfs, great for when you don’t need to encrypt the whole disk.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

