Home > FUDCon, FUDCon 2008 Raleigh > FUDCon 2008 Raleigh – PostGIS

FUDCon 2008 Raleigh – PostGIS


One of the presentations I attended at FUDCon’s Barcamp was one on PostGIS. This really interested me greatly as I have always been interested in mapping and charts and data and such. While working at the ECU Police Department I had the opportunity to work with the City of Greenville and, to a lesser extent, the County of Pitt to integrate their GIS data into what ECU already had. It was very disheartening to see how the three entities couldn’t really work together because their data wasn’t compatible and everyone was spending all this money but couldn’t really get a good product.

Fast forward a year and here I sit at FUDCon 2008 in Raleigh and I find out the US Fish and Wildlife office in North Carolina has been using open source tools to manage their endangered species! Wow, now that is progress. I was very impressed with the information I received and will be looking into this more in the future. If you are interested, please follow the link above for PostGIS.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

