Home > Fedora 9, Network Manager > Blackberry Use on Fedora 9?

Blackberry Use on Fedora 9?


Has anyone been able to get the Internet via their tethered Blackberry thing to work? I’m a Verizon Wireless customer and they have some pretty slick software for Windoze that allows you access to the Internet by tethering your Blackberry to your computer. Not sure if the software would play nicely with NetworkManager (I’m guessing no) but I wonder if support for this will come in the future.
Categories: Fedora 9, Network Manager
  1. 2008-05-27 at 14:55 EDT

    I have a Sprint Sierra AirCard 595U which is a proper mobile broadband card. It works just fine with NetworkManager, and it should work fine so long as HAL sees it as a modem (and ttyS? devices are made for it)

  2. 2008-05-27 at 16:01 EDT

    Unfortunately, the Blackberry is pretty non-standard in what it exports for dial-up stuff. There are a few utilities out there which have attempted to reverse engineer bits and pieces (XmBlackberry and barry being the main two iirc) but my attempts to get anything going on my Pearl on T-Mobile usually ended up with me getting frustrated and then not looking at it again for a few months.

  3. 2008-05-27 at 17:51 EDT

    I have a BB 8700C from AT&T and do, in fact, need to do the XMBlakcberry dance in order to make tethering work.But, my co-worker has a VZW 8800 World Edition that seems to present a modem over bluetooth. I believe he simply paired the device and NM did the heavy lifting. I’m fairly certain this behavior is unique to the World Edition or perhaps the fact that VZW forgot to unlock his phone the last time he traveled abroad and needed a whack with a clue-by-four to make it work.

  4. 2008-05-27 at 21:30 EDT

    The support for this depends wildly on the model of the blackberry and even on the firmware provided by your carrier. (My tests were on mac only , since I don’t have a bluetooth adapter on my linux box)When I last tried it on a Mac, the old blackberry I had (IIRC, it was an 8700g), the firmware that was supported by my carrier didn’t even export the Dial Up interface over bluetooth. On the Curve 8310, it kinda works. However sometimes it will decide to stop talking to the laptop, causing pppd to timeout waiting for the device. The only way to fix this on the Mac is re-pairing the device and rebooting the phone. I don’t know if this is Mac-specific , but I’d guess it’s a blackberry issue that you are likely to encounter in linux.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers